South Eastern University - SEU

South Eastern University - SEU Logo

The South Eastern University of Sri Lanka commenced its academic programmes under two Faculties, namely the Faculty of Arts & Culture and the Management and Commerce at Addalaichenai, sharing the premises of the Government Teachers' Training College while the construction work of its permanent seat at Oluvil where 220 acres of land has been acquired , was in progress.

In 1997, the Faculty of Applied sciences was established at Sammanthurai with first batch of students for the Academic Year 1997/98 consisting of 30 students for the B.Sc programme in Bio Science and 10 students for Physical Science. In May 1998, Faculty of Arts & Culture and Management & Commerce main University Library and all administrative offices were shifted from Addalaichenai to Oluvil and the Centre for Extension studies of the University remained at Addalaichenai.

In October 2005, the Faculty of Islamic Studies and Arabic Language was established with first batch of 50 students for the Academic Year 2005/2006 then another batch of 79 students were admitted for the academic year 2006/07 by the admission policy of University grants Commission. There is no any Faculty of this nature established in any other universities in Sri Lanka. Presently the University is operating with six Faculties namely Faculty of Arts and Culture (FAC), Faculty of Management and Commerce (FMC), Faculty of Applied Sciences (FAS), Faculty of Islamic Studies & Arabic Language (FIA), Faculty of Engineering (FE) and Faculty of Faculty of Technology (FT).

Contact Details

+94 67 2 255062

University Park , Oluvil

Courses @ South Eastern University - SEU

Scholarship Alerts

Type "REG coursenet" and SEND to 77000

Get latest scholarships, offers & academic event alerts to your phone via SMS.

Service is available for Dialog, Mobitel, Hutch & Airtel users. Monthly (Rs. 30 + tax).